Keep Calm, 40 is Fabulous

Three days ago someone rang the bell and it was my lovely neighbor with a bunch of flower in her hand. She said, “I know you are in grieve today but I hope this flowers will cheer you up a little bit…” Err… what?

Three days ago was my birthday and yes, I turned 40. Obviously she thinks it’s awful to be 40 or to be older and she’s not the only one who think like that. I remember a year ago as hubby turned 40, he didn’t want to be at home that day, not even in Germany. He wanted to be away, not to celebrate it but simply to forget it. The good thing was, he took us for road trip for that purpose๐Ÿ˜‚

And I was like: Geez… What’s wrongย  with 40? I remember one of my younger friend, she also complained a lot as she turned 30. I guess the problem is not the number but being older and unfortunately we get olderย  each year even each day, each hour…minute…so it’s useless to complained. The choice is only to keep continue older or you die!

A nice flower shop owner close to our house gratulated me as well that day. She said I look much younger as 40 year old (that’s one of advantages being Asian, I guess…) and she suggested me to stay like who I am now, be authentic and not to dress like an old women. Well, I am who I am. For sure I won’t dress like a 15 years old girl and try not to dress like 70 y/o grandma (no offence, I know some grandmas who are damn stylish too) but hey! Again I am who I am, I am authentic…if in any chance I look like an indeed 16 or 71 y/o woman…well, that’s me ๐Ÿ™‚

By the way, I’m also not that kind of woman who hide their age from others, from friends or even strangers. Most German women here think asking someone’s age and saying own age to others are big no no. No, for me it’s absolutely fine. I know everybody have their own personal boundary, some don’t even want to tell their own friends about their marital status and we simply have to respect it.

Anyway, on my birthday I had a great day with family. Hubby took a day offย  and we started the day with a huge brunch in our favorite restaurant and then a a short trip to the city nearby, continue with a nice dinner. I’m blessed that until this age I’m still very healthy and happy, no reason to be ungrateful.

IMG_0199.jpg
When you are 40 and have a small child/ children, it’s unlikely you’ll have a photo of yourself alone ๐Ÿ˜€

ย 

8 thoughts on “Keep Calm, 40 is Fabulous

Leave a Reply

